Baked Sunday Morning: Dad’s Black Cocoa Bundt with Butter Whiskey Glaze

This cake is intended for dad, on that ever special tie giving holiday, Father’s Day. My husband doesn’t like chocolate cake, but loves whiskey, so I thought the whiskey glaze might win him over. He really deserves something special as for the past week he has been up at 3:30 to check on our crying baby. Both him and my dad are amazing men. Really lucky to have them in my life.

imageI was unable to find black cocoa, but found something really close, Guittard dark cocoa (which looks black, so maybe it was mislabeled) which I used for this cake. I also decreased the sugar as felt like 495 grams was a lot, to 450. The first time I have ever decreased the sugar content in a cake, and it came out fine, so it maybe something I try in the future. I used a 10 cup bundt pan as I do not have a 12 cup, and the batter fit fine and the cake baked within the time called for. I was really worried about this cake as when I checked on it, as it had completely fallen, but I was able to get it out of the pan with a little stickage, and it was not noticable after pouring on the whiskey glaze (after warnings from Sheri I really greased and floured my pan).

image

We were fans of the cake portion, but not the glaze. The whiskey was just too stong and overpowered the cake. The bundt cake had a really nice chocolate flavor and was very moist. The blackness of it is really unique and interesting (although that cocoa powder is a pain to clean-up). In the future, I think I will be making the cake, without the frosting.

Recipe from: Baked Occasions by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Morning: Dad’s Black Cocoa Bundt with Butter Whiskey Glaze

  1. Susan says:

    It sure looks like you used black cocoa! We really liked how light this cake was.

    I can’t believe our dads have the same shirt – that is too funny! Have a great week.

    Like

  2. Yes, Guittard “dark cocoa” is in fact black cocoa powder– that’s the one I swear by! It’s one of my favorite ingredients to bake with. Mine fell too– I’d leave it in the oven for just a few more minutes next time, but it was still delicious. Nice job– I’m sure the hubby was very appreciative! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

