Baked Sunday Mornings: Blueberry Buckle (Rogue)

This week our Baked Sunday Morning’s assignment was Individual Baked Alaskas in honor of Alaska day. I have yet to try a baked Alaska, and while they sounded interesting, they also sounded like a lot of work: making cupcakes, coating them in ice cream, making meringue frosting (check out BSM for all of the steps). I contemplated buying un-iced cupcakes, but the cake seemed like an important ingredient. I just did want to try the recipe with a subpar store bought cake. If I were smarter I would have tackled these when I made the red wine cupcakes. I decided to go with something I have wanted to bake for a while, the blueberry buckle that was a BSM assignment a couple of months ago.

image

I really stayed true to the original recipe except I used frozen blueberries and also added extra, a full tsp. as opposed to ¾, ground ginger as the stuff I had was pretty old. The cake did take longer than the full hour to bake as the recipe stated, I left mine in for about 65 minutes and felt like it achieved an adequate level of doneness.

image

We really liked this cake. It was moist, had a ton of blueberries, and the cinnamon crumble topping was pretty amazing. Not a lot I would change with this, it’s pretty perfect as is. I still want to try the Individual Baked Alaskas, and I am excited to see if the other bakers felt it was worth the time and effort.

Recipe from: Baked Occasions by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito

4 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings: Blueberry Buckle (Rogue)

  1. Byn says:

    Oh I loved that Blueberry Buckle! It just screams summer!

    Like

  2. Mmmmm, so many juicy blueberries in your cake — it looks delicious!!

    Like

  3. hsimpsongrossman says:

    Oh, how I miss this blueberry buckle! It’s one of the best I’ve made ad yours looks scrumptious!

    Like

  4. Looks super! Yes, this was a really good one, especially that cinnamon topping! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

