Baked Sunday Mornings: Brown Butter Apple Cranberry Galette

This summer I had an obsession with galettes. I made one a couple of times a month as it used some of our massive amounts of fruit, but did not require me to form a pie crust in a tin. I have struggled with traditional pie crusts and although it usually tasted fine, they looked horrible with mangled edges and random patches of thin dough. A great way around this is the rustic galette.

image

First step is to make the galette dough. I have never made a pie crust that uses cake flour, so I was curious how this would turn out. The crust I made according to the directions, but I rolled out the dough instead of waiting after the first rest in the refrigerator, as I have found it does not alter the texture and is much easier to do while the dough is still warm. For the filling, I made everything according to the recipe. I baked this for the full 45 minutes (I actually fell asleep while this was in the oven).

 

I really, really liked this galette. The amount of spice was perfect. It brought out the taste of the apples without overpowering them. The pie crust was pretty flakey and buttery-the perfect texture. Both the apples and cranberries got a little dark, but it did not affect the taste. To me the cranberries didn’t lend a whole lot, and this can easily be made without them. My unrefined palette couldn’t detect the brown butter, but the overall taste was so great, that I will do it again this way in the future.

 

The one downside of this recipe is that there are not more like it within Baked Occasions. While I understand most occasions call for cake, it would be nice to mix things up with some more pies and tarts.

 

Recipe from Baked Occasions by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito

3 thoughts on “Baked Sunday Mornings: Brown Butter Apple Cranberry Galette

  1. I struggle with pie dough as well– this was a great alternative! Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

    Like

  2. I agree I would like to bake more pies and tarts!!! I love the way your galette looks, the cranberries make it look festive. Nice bake!

    Like

  3. Robyn says:

    Seems to be a common theme – I have always been so frustrated with pie dough – so galettes are perfect. I thought this was so amazingly delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

