Baked Sunday Mornings: Whipped Shortbread

Wow, I cannot believe that Christmas is almost upon us. I made these during Salt Lake’s first snowstorm of the year and it was a perfect way to start the holiday season.

These whipped shortbreads are some of the simplest cookies to make. Butter, powder sugar, flour, cornstarch and salt mixed together. The great thing about this shortbread recipe, chilling is not required, although I got a better looking, rounder cookie when I refrigerated mine for 30 minutes before baking. I got 32 cookies and had to bake these slightly longer than 15 minutes, I kept mine in for 18 minutes and left them to cool on the pan and they were perfect.

image

This cookie is really fun to experiment with. I made some with the recipe specified pecans, but also added skor bar, candied ginger, and crushed peppermint candy canes to the top. Our house was divided on the favorite toppings. My husband preferred the pecans and skor bar, and I liked the candied ginger crushed peppermint. Regardless of what topping was on there, we thought there could be more placed on top then what was called for in the recipe, and enjoyed the cookies that we loaded with toppings (maybe why I had a longer bake time). I think this would be a great base for a turtle cookie: rolled in pecans, with chocolate and caramel would be amazing. This cookie was well liked and so versatile that I will be making it a couple of times a year, not just at Christmas. The texture is lighter than shortbread and my not a fan of shortbread husband really liked these.

Leave a Reply

